12 Fashionable Black Men Influencers and Models That You Should Follow on Instagram

Sarai Thompson
11 min readOct 19, 2020

--

Photographer: @thesaraiashari featuring Oreo Fay and Eric Ford.

Meet the Black men who are making fashionable statements in and outside of social media.

From streetwear to tailored business casual threads, Black men are making statements on their Instagram pages and showing us how it is done. In sartorially inclined style, our timelines are blessed with très magnifique looks that will leave you in awe. Trust me, your timeline needs this inspiration.

Aside from modeling these men are the jacks of many trades from entrepreneurs, influencers, photographers, students, designers and everything in between, they are making the world their oyster with their je ne sais quoi. Through their daily ventures, these men prove that any piece, a basketball jersey, tailored suit, or even a button-up mid-sleeved shirt can go a long way if styled correctly. It’s all about balance, fit and ultimately…confidence. Black men are captivating the eyes with their ensembles. Regardless of your style preference, we can all take a page from the books of these men besides, more than ever, representation is vital.

We learn what our senses consume. Once the learned information is rehearsed, it becomes innate in our daily lives. This is why, especially in the fashion industry, representation is important. The constant repetition and understanding that the fashion world is not for a specific size, race, economic status and especially gender are imperative to the growth and progression of an industry that can appear unattainable from an outsider’s perspective.

Black men are vital in the fashion industry and there simply isn’t enough. But, we can start to change the narrative first by what we consume on our social timelines.

When you think about fashion, be sure to continuously add Black men into the conversation. The residents of the fashion world are not just women and white men. Black men are here and present. They are the trendsetters and muses in the fashion world. However, they are not visually seen or celebrated in high quantities. -Sarai Thompson, Fashion Journalist

Here’s to the celebration of the Black men in fashion and the featured names below.

Photo Courtesy: @oreofay

1. @oreofay

Boston native Ooreofe Oluwadara is an entrepreneur, photographer, athlete and student currently residing in NYC. When he’s not balancing school and his brand, Ooreofe works as a social media marketer. Look out, he has plans to build a social media marketing agency in the future. We love a man in a suit and that’s the look that Ooreofe is serving on his Instagram. There is no such thing as overdressed with this style muse, it evokes respect, an aspect that is important to him.

“In the society we live in today, people are judged by their appearance. Rather than focusing on things I cannot control, I focus on what I can. I choose to wear suits as my daily attire because I believe that the way you dress is the way you are addressed. Being a black man I am susceptible to many judgments and stereotypes simply based on my skin color. Although this stems from deeper rooted issues in our social environment; from my own experiences I’ve received a higher level respect and opportunities such as job offers, partnerships and business ventures due to how I present myself daily.”

Photo Courtesy: @arone_crosss| Photographer: Body Shape Art Photography

2. @arone_crosss

Sleek and sophisticated are just a few words to try and describe the beautiful Instagram of the fashion model, Arone Cross. He has a following of over 20 thousand and his loyal fan base continues to grow on a daily bases. You might have seen him reposted on various fashion pages. Aside from modeling, Arone is a professional image consultant in Paris with a business that has his namesake, Arone Cross. But, what steps did Arone take to grow to such an expansive following? His keys: patience, perseverance, quality, a trusted team and a vision.

“The desire to bring a professional dimension to my fashion vision. I work with talented photographers: @bsa.fs and @makusudesu. Together we bring another dimension to my image. Today, thanks to my team, we are developing the company ARONE CROSS in order to help those who are looking for their clothing identity.”

Photo Courtesy: @sr.king_dapper

3. @sr.king_dapper

King Levi Dapper is a man that wears many hats (IRL and hypothetically). Not only is he an influencer but, a creative director, activist and founder/CEO of Fancy Fashion Week in Mozambique. He is the founder of the style brand, Vicious and that does not touch the surface of Levi’s multifaceted resume. He credits his rise in the fashion world to his good taste, passion for learning and desire to consistently innovate his look. Levi received the award for Best Fashion Influencer by the Odartey Style and Fashion Awards in Ghana and was nominated this year for Best Style and Fashion by the World Influencers and Bloggers Awards.

“Styling for me is the same as writing a poem or painting a piece of art. My style is bold, it cares [about] the colors inspired by my roots (Africa) and yet classic inspired by my current living ground (Paris/ Europe). I am a true believer of the power of an outfit, so I everyday care myself with impeccable style not only to impact but also to inspire the world.”

Photo Courtesy: @that.spiffy.dynx | Photographer: @rodney.shots

4. @that.spiffy.dynx

Ernest Dinku Jr., known as Dynx, was born, raised and currently resides in Ghana. At a young age, Dynx began his journey into the fashion world with a fascination for patterns and color. That curiosity for building a visual relationship with elements of clothing grew to him becoming crowned the “most fashionable” at his alma mater, Central University in Ghana. Today, he is a menswear stylist, bassist, style influencer and brand ambassador of men’s hair care company Aaron Wallace.

“I love art and everything color! I’m moved when I see colors come together harmoniously. Interior decor, flower bouquets, nature, paintings and everything art give me inspiration. Secondly, I usually like to focus on bringing out the uniqueness in clothing that go un-noticed. Textures and prints, colors, cuts and general design of clothing pieces, are a few of the things I look out for. Once I establish these elements, I build a visual communication and synergy between the various clothing elements which form an overall base for an already perceived outlook. I also try as much as possible not to overdo an outfit combo. I try to keep it as simple as possible with accessories that certainly complement each other and keep the outfit in its pre-perceived theme.”

Photo Courtesy: @thereal_chuck_bass | Photographer: @justlevante

5. @thereal_chuck_bass

Empowering, uplifting the Black man and teaching the youth about the flexibility of fashion is the focal point for Boston native and model, Omar Parkman. He attributes fashion to his self-development and desires to tell his story with hopes that it will inspire the next generation of young men.

“As a Black menswear enthusiast, I think it’s important to showcase ones style on social media because of representation. As Black men, there are stigmas and stereotypes against us that we need to dismantle and what better way to do that than to show the real us through our style. Style is an extension of oneself, a way to show the world who we are without having to say it. I showcase my style to express myself and to show other young black boys that being well-dressed is a form of good manners. I showcase to prove to the oppressors that Black men are more than the labels falsely given to us. I showcase to spread a message to the world. Social media allows us to spread our message to a wide audience further than we can reach in our own communities. Being able to connect and see a network of well-dressed African-American men fills my heart with joy and purpose.”

Photo Courtesy: @ranger_up | Photographer: @trecrews

6. @ranger_up

Houston native turned Brooklyn resident Eric Ford’s Instagram is undeniably a mood board of fashion, earth tone colors, feelings and landscape. You will not regret following this influencer. His page is not only an aesthetic, it is an experience. Behind the scenes, Eric is a digital coordinator, a “huge” Power Rangers fan, enjoys listening to music, embarking on adventures and iPhone photography. Celebrating individuality is an important aspect ofEric’s personal life. He is queer, Black and proud of it. He encourages others to focus on their individuality and authenticity, which in his opinion are the keys to being an influencer.

“Individuality is the pentacle of being an influencer in today’s society. An influencer is naturally able to command an audience, start a conversation, and create change within their community. These key points are not possible if authenticity is not present within the content produced. People gravitate towards the things that speak to their hearts, their experiences. Even with myself, I have managed to curate a space of amazing people to be inspired and to feel free all under a 10k Following. Being an influencer is not about the likes or the verifications, but about showcasing life in a fresh viewpoint that connects to those around you.”

Photo Courtesy: @stuylin

7. @stuylin

On the daily, style blogger and photographer George Myrie showcases his aesthetic on Instagram and through his blog Stuylin.com. One cannot deny the look of authority and effortlessness George conveys through his looks and on his blog, his words are straight, no chaser! You’re going to get a serving of realness every time you open a post. His style is fluid. You never know what you’re going to get and that feeling of being on our toes is one of the joys of following this influencer on Instagram.

“My fashion inspiration is definitely based on function and comfortability over everything. The older I get the more I become like my Dad. I always thought it was weird that he wore trousers with sneakers, but the only thing cooler than a pair of pants is a pair of shorts. Jeans in the heat isn’t something I care to do. When I was younger it was fine, but now that I’m in my forties, not so much.”

Photo Courtesy: @franck_demaga

8. @franck_demaga

There’s more than what meets the eye with Cameroonian born Franck Demaga. Aside from acting and modeling, Franck has a degree in Mathematics and currently working to secure another degree (actuarial science to be exact) at Temple University. Fun fact: He held the crown of Mister Africa USA in 2015. I was interested in Franck’s opinion on whether more Black men are needed in the modeling/influencing industry (based on his background) and he believes it is deeper than race.

“Even though inequality and racism is such an obvious issue in the modeling industry, I won’t say that we need more Black men in the industry. I believe and support equality and I will say we need more good people and good leaders in the industry that will promote skills set, talent over skin color or race.”

9. @ahaise_bradt

Nineteen-year-old Clinton Ahaise Bradt at a young age has already made big strides in his journey to make his goals a reality. The Ugandan-born model works as a professional actor and has been featured on Disney Channel and worked with names you might know such as Jordan Peele, Sofia Wylie and Spike Lee. But, how did this actor get into the world of modeling? It all started with a camera.

“The summer of my freshman year of high school I got really into photography. I loved taking portraits of other people, but I found it hard to communicate my vision to the models. In an effort to better understand my model’s viewpoint, I decided to get in front of the camera. It was from there that my curiosity and passion for the craft grew. I began to post on Instagram pretty consistently and built up a small following. The following year I was picked up by an agency for acting and modeling. My advice to anyone looking to break into any industry, but especially the modeling industry, is [to] be patient, persistent, and create your own opportunities. Patience and persistence at first glance seem to be contradictory, but I promise when done right they yield the best results. You must be persistent and chase after your dream with a burning passion, but you must also be patient with yourself and recognize that everything worthwhile takes time. Finally, in your pursuit of your dreams never compromise your character for clout. Opportunities will come and go, but you will always live with the decisions you have made. Go forth and concur.”

Photo Courtesy: Instagram: @brandon.rashad | Photographer: @dp.jolly

10. @brandon.rashad

Charlotte native Brandon Rashad came to New York City like many young adults with a dream — to leave a lasting impression on the fashion industry. Since his move in 2017, Brandon’s journey has taken him to many seasons of New York Fashion Week and making connections with others within the fashion world. Brands like Swedish brand Daniel Wellington and personal care brand Gillette have taken notice of Brandon’s work and his audience as well with a following of over 14.7 thousand Instagram.

“The biggest lesson I’ve learned as a creative is to trust my instincts and have faith. I have to trust my abilities and talent and don’t let comparison to my peers intimidate me and stifle my growth. One must be committed to being a student to their craft and remain innovative in their approach to artistic expression.”

Photo Courtesy: Instagram: @thedenzelb| Photographer: @seanperryfilms

11. @thedenzelb

Twenty-five-year-old freelance fashion model and influencer, Denzel Bryan is a name to pay attention to in the industry. Currently, he has worked with brands such as Calvin Klein, ASOS, Urban Outfitters and featured in publications such as Vogue (American, French, Mexican, British and Italian) and GQ just to name a few. But, the journey as a model and creative comes with its ups and downs — especially during a pandemic.

“I find it quite difficult being a model in the pandemic. I’m currently unsigned and one of my main goals in the beginning of this year was to visit agencies in hopes of getting signed again, but the pandemic is making everything uncertain. As a freelance model and influencer based in NYC, I am blessed to have connections with many brands, PR, and peers within the influencer space that look out for me and pitch me and/or approach me with various jobs, social campaigns, and content creating opportunities. I am grateful to be in the position that I’m in, but humbly knowing that I have such a long way to go and I’m very excited for what is to come on my journey.

My advice to anyone looking to become a model and/or influencer is to stay consistent and never compare yourself to anyone. There’s room for so many of us especially within the black/POC community and the more we support one another without any malice and jealousy, then we can all prosper. I find importance in uplifting others and encouraging my peers. Also, understand that not everything is for you and to really try to have an understanding of what your niche can be. I personally am versatile and can accept anything from skin to health to fashion campaigns etc so within that same sentence, I’d say be open to opportunities and don’t hold yourself back. Stay open-minded and stay kind so doors can continue to open. Last but not least, be kind, be genuine, be yourself, smile and have a personality! Being personable and approachable in this industry can and will take you so far!”

Photo Courtesy: @okdeon

12. @okdeon

Model, creative director and artist, Deon Hinton is no stranger in the fashion spaces. Throughout his career, he has worked with notable sartorial royalty such as Christian Dior and Calvin Klein while developing this own brand through the use of photography, cinematography and poetry. His Instagram tells a story through the use of a nude color palette, nature, architecture, emotion and of course — fashion.

“I do believe that it is imperative for Black male models and influencers to have a strong social media presence at this time to a degree. I believe that there is a notion that Black models and influencers need to do their part in sharing news and stories with their audiences, however, there comes a point too where we need to see ourselves as human and not encyclopedias for how to love and respect Black lives. I believe that sharing the experiences of Black lives through the scopes and lenses of Black voices are important right now, but I also believe that there needs to be a space for us to grieve the brother and sites that we have lost, and regain the strength we need to fight on.”

--

--